Brief History

The Internal Quality Assurance Unit of The Gateway (ICT) Polytechnic Saapade was established in October 2019. The Unit is headed by a Director who reports directly to the Rector of the Polytechnic.

The Internal Quality Assurance of the Polytechnic popularly called IQA is concerned with all practices whereby academic standards attained by higher education graduates are maintained and improved. The main reason why the Unit was created is to improve the academic standard of our students and improve their employability.

The Academic Planning Unit collaborates and works with the following Units and Committees among others:

  • Internal Quality Assurance Unit
  • Examinations Planning Committee
  • Curriculum Monitoring Committee

  • Services Rendered

    1. Promotion and sustenance of the culture of quality in all aspects of the Polytechnic’s operations.
    2. Collaboration with all stakeholders to ensure an atmosphere that is devoid of rancor, in order to enhance the quality of the management and delivery of the Polytechnic’s programmes.
    3. Development and update of assessment instruments and indicators for all issues relating to ensuring quality delivery of academic services.
    4. Development and review of curriculum from time to time.
    5. Ensuring adequacy of academic staff in terms of qualification, relevance and distribution.
    6. Coordination of logistics during external accreditation or assessment.
    7. Organise and document various programmes and activities leading to quality improvement.

    Departmental Units

    The IQA Unit of the school comprises of four (4) major subunits which exist in form of Committees. These are:

    1. Lecture Monitoring Committee.
    2. Curriculum Assessment Committee.
    3. GAPOSA Environmental Committee (GAPOSA E-Corps).
    4. The Applied Research, Technology and Innovation Committee (ARTI)

    Duties of Each Units

    1. Lecture Monitoring Committee: This committee monitors and ensures proper class attendance of both students and lecturers. This is done by putting in place a range of procedures designed to safeguard academic standards and which will promote learning opportunities of acceptable quality. The committee is also expected to safeguard and ensure healthy staff-student relationship.

    2. Curriculum Assessment Committee: It is the duty of this committee to ensure that lecturers, closely monitored by their Heads of Departments, achieve in-depth coverage of the curriculum of courses allocated to them to teach in line with The National Board for Technical Education’s (NBTE) directives.

    3. GAPOSA Environmental Committee (GAPOSA E-Corps): This committee has the statutory responsibility of ensuring and maintaining a clean and sane academic environment in order to improve the process of learning.

    4. The Applied Research, Technology and Innovation Committee (ARTI): This committee is responsible for regularly providing avenues for improving teaching skills of the staff of the Polytechnic through research by organization of training, workshops and conferences. This is to ensure that staff keep abreast of the latest information and discoveries in their various fields of study.