Brief History

Pharmaceutical Technology is a course offered at Gateway ICT Polytechnic, Saapade as stipulated by the National Board for Technical Education (N.B.T.E). Pharmaceutical Technology is related to Pharmacy but the curriculum is more concentrated on the technology of designing drugs.
The department of Pharmaceutical Technology in Gateway ICT Polytechnic, Sapaade, was established in October 2019 by an instrument of the Academic Board. It is one of the great Departments under the School of Science and Technology. Mr Amoniyan Oluwasegunfunmi, A. is the Dean of the School while Mr Kareem, Fatai A. is the Pioneer Head of the Department. The department has on its roll over sixty students with competent, effective and well qualified staff.

The first set of students was admitted in the 2019/2020 Academic Session and they have been found to be dedicated and enlightened as they shown traits of being promising. Pharmaceutical Technology department got its Resource Accreditation in February 2020. The department has qualified members of staff from different disciplines, viz Pharmacy, Pharmacology, Biochemistry, Chemistry, Microbiology and Pharmaceutical Technology.


At present, the Department runs a two-year National Diploma (ND) Programme in Pharmaceutical Technology and would start the Higher National Diploma programme very soon.

The structure of the ND programme consists of four semesters of classroom, laboratory and workshop activities in the College and a semester (3-4 months) of Supervised Industrial Work Experience Scheme (SIWES).

Pharm. Shonde Oluwatoyin is the current Departmental Coordinator for SIWES while Miss Ifede Kehinde is the Staff adviser for Association of Pharmaceutical Technology Students (ASSOPATS). The students are also expected to present a befitting and current research at the end of their two-year programme. Miss Omotosho Oluwatobi has been delegated to coordinate the research presentations.

Subjects Required for Application:

SSCE / WAEC /GCE / NECO with at least five credits at two sittings
English Language (not Literature in English), Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry, and Biology/Agricultural Science.
NABTEB: At least five credits at two sittings, which must include: Mathematics, English Language, Physics, Chemistry, and Biology/Agricultural Science.